Royce wrote:Im not too sure about who can call that... I've called it on my opponent before when his dampner came onto my side of the court. Im not too sure about who can call that... I've called it on my opponent before when his dampner came onto my side of the court.
So what did your opponent say to that? He couldn't have gone on playing quietly...
Royce wrote:Im not too sure about who can call that... I've called it on my opponent before when his dampner came onto my side of the court....He wasnt pleased but he couldnt do anything about it. He knew it...
Haha! I can see that in an inter-collegiate match. I don't think I'd call that in my matches though...unless I was playing a total jerk. That's why it pays to be nice.
Zz and I were chatting, and the topic of line calls came up. There was a confusing issue that was brought up, and I decided to look at the actual rules. Turns out I was wrong. Perhaps you are unaware too, so I will list it here. I'd be interested to hear if any of you follow this.
From the "USTA Friend at Court 2010" rulebook...
[Page 47] 13. Player calls own shots out. With the exception of the first serve, a player should call against himself or herself any ball the player clearly sees out regardless of whether requested to do so by the opponent. The prime objective in making calls is accuracy. All players should cooperate to attain this objective.
That surprised me. I always thought we lived with opponents' calls, good or bad. Not only are we supposed to admit that a ball was out if asked by our opponent, but we are supposed to volunteer this information without prompting?! Does anyone follow this rule, calling their own shots out? Likewise, has anyone asked an opponent for their opinion? I usually just make the calls on my side and let them make the calls on their side.
[Page 48] 26. Service calls by serving team. Neither the Server nor Server's partner shall make a fault call on the first service even if they think it is out because the Receiver may be giving the Server the benefit of the doubt. There is one exception. If the Receiver plays a first service that is a fault and does not put the return in play, the Server or Server's partner may make the fault call. The Server and the Server's partner shall call out any second serve that either clearly sees out.
We were also discussing whether or not you can call your own serve out. For some reason, I thought you could call your first serve out, but apparently that's the one call you cannot make on your opponent's side. However, you can "admit" to a second serve being out and just lose the point. Again, does anyone follow this rule?
Andrew S wrote:He can call let the first time it happens. But if it happens again and disrupts play he loses the point.
If you are playing social or recreational tennis, then you should ALWAYS offer to play a let (or a “do-over”) when an extra ball falls from your pocket during a point. The same is true for when your hat falls off your head. Often enough, your opponent will indicate that it was not a distraction and allow the point played to stand.
In a tournament match where an official is present to call the lines, the umpire will always call a let in this circumstance. If it happens repeatedly, then the umpire can penalize the offending player by automatically awarding the point to the opposing player. This eliminates the possibility of gamesmanship.